Board of Trustees

The governance of The Howard University is vested in the Board of Trustees, which is responsible for controlling and directing the affairs, property, and interests of the University.  The Board of Trustees may exercise all powers and authorities conferred upon the University as set forth in the Act of Incorporation and as otherwise permitted by law. [Please refer to Act of Incorporation and The Howard University Bylaws of the Board of Trustees in the Governance Documents section for more information on the University's governance structure.]

Download Current Board of Trustee Roster


Trustee Roster & Biographies

Laurence C. Morse (B.A. '73)

Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Fairview Capital

Leslie D. Hale (B.B.A. ’94)

President and Chief Executive Officer, RLJ Lodging Trust (RLJ)

Mark A. L. Mason (B.B.A. ’91)

Chief Financial Officer, Citigroup

Wayne A. I. Frederick (B.S. ’92, M.D. ’94, MBA ’11)


Minnie V. Baylor-Henry (BSP ’72)

President, Baylor-Henry and Associates

Charles M. Boyd (B.S. ’87)

Owner/Medical Director, The Boyd Cosmetic Surgical Institute

Chris Carr

Chief Operating Officer, Sweetgreen Inc.

Donald B. Christian (B.B.A. ’90)

Partner, PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PwC), US East Region Advisory Leader

Godfrey Gill (B.B.A. ’89)

Senior Vice President, Investor Relations, Vista Equity Partners

Richard Goodman

Executive Vice President (Ret.), PepsiCo

Michele V. Hagans (B.S. ’73, M.S. ’76, MDiv ’07, DMin ’13)

President and Chief Executive Officer, Fort Lincoln New Town Corporation

Danette G. Howard (B.A. ‘97)

Chief Strategy Officer and Senior Vice President, Lumina Foundation

Alphonso R. Jackson

Senior Advisor to CEO, (Ret.), First Data Corporation

Marie C. Johns (Honorary degree ’13)

Chief Executive Officer, PPC-Leftwich

James J. Murren

Chair, Nevada COVID-19 Response Relief and Recovery Task Force

Hilary Rosen

Political Analyst, CNN and Partner, SKDKnickerbocker

Ronald A. Rosenfeld

Former Chairman, Federal Housing Finance Board

Shelley Stewart Jr.

Managing Partner, BottomLine Advisory, LLC

Reed V. Tuckson (B.S. ’73)

Managing Director, Tuckson Health Connections, LLC

Chris Washington (B.A ’92)

Grassroots Marketing Consultant Professional DJ, Asst. Athletics Director and Varsity Coach